Using Your God given Talent or Risk Losing it

I have heard “Use your God-given Talent or lose it” so much over the last 10 years whether it was said to me or a topic in church for the masses that it had me somewhat in fear of the inevitable.  Losing something sucks no matter how you paint the picture!  All I could think of was…..OMG!!!!  I can actually lose something knowingly.  Most of the time, we unknowingly lose things, but to know to me is far worse.  It’s like showing up for the “Hunger Games” with no ammunition!  It’s just like using medicine after the expiration date and/or eating expired food.  Everything in life has an expiration date and if you don’t use it, then it will be of no use or worse…YOU LOSE IT!

So, what’s God Given Talent?  To me, it’s simple……we’re put here to use the gifts that HE has given us and use those talent(s) to Serve.  A great scripture to back that up is Ephesians 4:11-12.  Some people figure out early on what their talents are and for some it takes some time to get there.  No path is better than the next as long as you figure out your purpose.  A good way to figure out your purpose is to figure out what you excel well at and the things that you really enjoy doing.  This would save a lot of wasted money on majors in college that people are only chasing for A.  Because that’s what is expected(a long history of family doctors, lawyers, etc), B.  It pays well, so I am only doing it for the money and C.  It sounds good, so I will try it.

In the bible, there is a great story that is evidence of the consequences of not using your talent.  I advise everyone to read Matthew 25:14-30.  Once you figure out what your talent is….go out into the World and Serve.  Nothing pleases God more than to use what HE has given us to Honor Him.  Romans 12:6 tells us, “And since we have different gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, let us exercise them accordingly.”  In all things….BE THANKFUL and Acknowledge HIM.

I found out my talent later on–about 2 years after going into a major that did not hold my interest(Psychology).  Once I figured it out(Graphic Design), I still did not use it to the fullest potential(For so many reasons).  Don’t muse yourself with self-doubt or that one bad client as I did….embrace it and watch it grow.  If I had known or had the opportunity to tap into my talent early on, then it would’ve taken me so long to figure it out.  Graphic Design isn’t the only thing I am great at, I house plenty of talents(Writing, anything Artsy/Creative and Kids) and now that I know….I cannot lose it, it’s not even an option at this point.  Here’s to finding your talent and using it!!

~Lovebug

Why wait....tell me your thoughts!!

